Boards and Commissions

Below is a list of Port Huron City governing boards and commissions. For further information on any of these boards or for a list of current vacancies, contact the City Clerk's Office at 810-984-9725.
Beautification CommissionBlue Water Area Transportation CommissionBoard of ReviewBrownfield Redevelopment Authority
Construction Board of AppealsDowntown Development AuthorityHistoric District CommissionHousing Commission
Income Tax Board of ReviewLocal Development Finance AuthorityMcMorran Place CommissionPlanning Commission
Rental Housing Board of AppealsSister City CommissionSoutheast Michigan Council of GovernmentsTax Increment Finance Authority
Traffic StudyWater System Advisory CouncilZoning Board of Appeals

Inactive Boards: Economic Development Commission; Port Huron Building Authority.

Planning Commission  (3-year term)

Appointed by Mayor with Council approval, Pursuant to Act No. 33, PA of 2008 and City Code.

Purpose: To oversee land development and redevelopments provided by Michigan Public Act No. 285 of 1931, as amended.

Meetings: Meets on the first Tuesday of the month at 6:00 p.m. in the Public Meeting Room, of the Municipal Office Center. The deadline for submitting items for Commission consideration is 30 days in advance of the meeting. For further information, contact the Planning Department at 810-984-9735.

Number of Member: 9

NameTerm Expires
Board Vacancy8/11/2019
Robert Arnold Jr.8/11/2020
Joseph Bond8/11/2020
Jeffrey Smith8/11/2020
David Schwartz (Chair)8/11/2021
Jazmyn Thomas8/11/2021
Michael Rossow8/11/2022
Lisa Beedon (Council Representative)11/21/2022
Eric Witter (City Manager's Representative)

To download A Boards and Commissions Application with Descriptions and Meeting Dates, Click here.